Southeastern Association of AALL Annual Report 2005-2006

The SEAALL Executive Committee for 2005/2006: President, Pam Deemer; Vice-President/President Elect, Anne Klinefelter; Immediate Past President, Michael Petit; Secretary, Marian Parker; Treasurer, Jack Bissett; Members-at-Large, Georgia Chadwick and Virginia Smith

SEAALL's Executive Committee, standing committees, and a special committee had a very busy year, thanks to the hurricane damage to SEAALL's member states on the Gulf Coast.

In the spring, the president appointed SEAALL's first Community Services Special Committee. The membership in a prescient moment voted yes in the summer at the AALL annual meeting in San Antonio to amend the SEAALL Articles as proposed by the Articles and Bylaws Committee (Chair: Michael Petit) to make CSC a standing committee. Then the hurricanes hit. The Community Services Committee (Chair: Rhea Ballard Thrower), working with our treasurer and webmaster (Steve Melamut), set up a PayPal account on the SEAALL website for a Hurricane Fund to benefit the libraries affected by the storms. SEAALL matched the raised funds. As a result, a little over \$1000 each will be given to the library associations of Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, and Mississippi. Thanks must go to MALL for its generosity. At the 2006 SEAALL annual meeting in Raleigh, the CSC collected various items and money donations from the members to aid the children assisted by the Raleigh Rescue Mission.

SEAALL originally was going to hold its 2006 annual meeting in Baton Rouge, but given the circumstances, on the recommendation of the Chair of the Baton Rouge Local Arrangements Committee, postponed meeting there until 2007 and asked the 2007 Raleigh Local Arrangements Committee (Co-Chairs: Connie Matzen and Lisa Williams) if they could handle the meeting a year early. They succeeded beyond all expectations. They also started a fun SEAALL Reads program and sponsored a book sale of relevant titles by the author, Margaret Maron.

The Program Committee (Chair: Anne Klinefelter) had to make some changes as well. The hurricanes provided a very successful institute topic: Prepare for the Worst, Hope for the Best: Using a Library Disaster Plan Template to Prepare the Library's Disaster Plan. This institute had the largest number of participants SEAALL has had for its institutes in a while and was very well received. The programs of the meeting itself were quite varied and aimed to inform librarians in all types of libraries and all types of library functions.

In addition to the Hurricane Fund, SEAALL set up a Hurricane Travel Scholarship fund for law librarians whose travel funds were reduced as a result of the economic hardship associated with the aftermath of the hurricanes. The directors of several major academic law libraries also contributed money to the fund as did COSELL. The Scholarship Committee (Chair: Beth Adelman) additionally distributed the AALL Chapter Registration Award, a student scholarship, a new grant for attending CONELL, a new SEAALL given grant for attending the AALL annual meeting, and the Lucile Elliott scholarship. This year the Committee administered the Kathryn Mattox Memorial AALL Scholarship as well.

The Education and Publications Committee (Chair: Marie Hamm) successfully submitted two programs for the AALL 2006 annual meeting in St. Louis (Pioneering Professionalism: the Journey Begins with Ethics and the Hot Topic, Prepare for the Worst, Hope for the Best: Using a Library Disaster Plan Template to Prepare the Library's Disaster Plan). The Committee also sent a representative to the AALL Education Summit.

On the recommendation of the AALL Associate Washington Affairs Representative, Mary Alice Baish and the SEAALL Government Relations Committee (Chair: Sally Wambold), SEAALL signed the Open the Government.org Statement of Values, plus a multiple signatory letter to Congress opposing EPA's plan to decrease the Toxic Release Inventory information and joined AALL in signing a petition to support the Whistleblowers Protection Act. The Committee cooperated with the AALL GRC to advertise Sunshine Week 2006: Are We Safer in the Dark, a National Dialogue on Open Government and Secrecy.

We all were very pleased with the Service to SEAALL Committee's decision to give Carol Avery Nicholson the Service to SEAALL Award. (Chair: Jim Heller)

The Membership Committee (Chair: Scott Deleve) designed new membership brochures and bookmarks in time for display at CONELL and the AALL activities area at the AALL annual meeting in San Antonio. They worked up new mentor/mentee applications for SEAALL's annual meeting in Raleigh and set up and coordinated the SEAALL mentoring program as well. Because the membership discussion list was closed to non-members this year and the SEAALL directory is online, the Membership Committee has had to coordinate membership information with the treasurer, the list postmaster, the webmaster, and the database manager.

Newsletter editor and webmaster Steve Melamut cannot be praised enough for his good redesign and very prompt delivery and updating of both newsletter and website.

The Placement Committee (Chair: Eileen Santos) monitored job opportunities for all member states and territories and posted on an average of 3 times each month on the SEAALL website for a total of 72 job opportunities. At the SEAALL annual conference it provided information about open positions as well as resumes of job seekers.

This year our Members-at-Large invited Beth Paskoff, Dean of the Library School at LSU, to be our V.I.P. at the AALL annual meeting in San Antonio.

The SEAALL archives were not in good shape, but SEAALL archivist John Barden, granted funds to buy files and boxes, has the collection better organized now.

Catherine Lemann, despite enduring Katrina and Rita, has kept the handbook up to date.

Paul Birch, the postmaster, moved the discussion list to AALLNET and closed the list to non-members.

Ongoing projects: The Members-at-Large are still working on this year's V.I.P. Another Member-at-Large project in process is the creation of a membership survey. The

Articles and Bylaws Committee started the process of proposing to amend the articles and bylaws to allow electronic notification of proposed amendments and slate of officers and electronic voting. The SEAALL database manager, Ken Hirsh, is considering AALL's providing Chapter membership services.

As a result of the work of the Nominations Committee (Chair: Donna Bausch) here is the SEAALL Executive Committee for 2006/2007: President, Anne Klinefelter; Vice-President/President Elect, Ken Hirsh; Immediate Past President, Pam Deemer; Secretary, Sally Wambold; Treasurer, Jack Bissett; Members-at-Large, Virginia Smith and Grace Mills

Pam Deemer, President 2005–06