Southeastern Chapter of the American Association of Law Libraries (SEAALL)

Annual Report 2016-2017

The SEAALL officers for 2016-2017 were Michelle Cosby, President; Jason R. Sowards, Vice President/President-Elect; Caroline Osborne, Immediate Past President; Thomas (T.J.) Striepe, Secretary; Kate Irwin-Smiler, Treasurer; and Wendy Moore and Charles (C.J.) Pipins as Members at Large. Newly elected officers for 2017-2018 are Kris Niedringhaus, Vice President-President-Elect; Amy O'Connor, Treasurer (replacing Kate Irwin-Smiler); and Avery Le as our new Member at Large (replacing Wendy Moore).

SEAALL held its annual meeting in Raleigh, North Carolina from March 30-April 1, 2017. The theme for the meeting was "Invent, Innovate, Inspire." The opening reception was held at The Stockroom, where attendees had the opportunity to have their pictures taken with Raleigh natives such as Sir Walter Raleigh, Ava Gardner, and Waldo (of Where's Waldo? fame). Local Arrangements also set up several tours of local law firms, law schools, and the state supreme court. The committee also set up an off-site tour of the James B. Hunt Jr. Library at North Carolina State University, home of a robot-driven book delivery system.

This year's pre-conference institute was entitled, "Continuing the Conversation: Identifying, Teaching, and Assessing Technological Competency." The institute offered speakers from both academia and practice to discuss what it means for our students to be technologically competent, as well as how we can assess whether such competency has been achieved. Post-institute evaluations were overwhelmingly positive, especially those of our law firm speakers.

As for traditional programming, the annual meeting offered over 25 sessions, consisting of some of the most diverse options the chapter has ever offered. Programs ranged from collection development topics, technology education, professional mobility across different types of law libraries, LGBT legal issues, to mindfulness in the workplace.

As part of the annual meeting in Raleigh, the SEAALL Executive Board issued a Resolution on SEAALL's Non-Discrimination Policy. The Board issued the resolution in light of legislation then in effect in our annual meeting host state of North Carolina. A copy of the resolution may be found at http://www.aallnet.org/chapter/seaall/documents/minutes/2017_Resolution.pdf.

In light of, and in alignment with, SEAALL's non-discrimination policy, the Community Service Committee selected the LGBT Center and Library of Raleigh as the recipient of its annual community service project. Members donated to the Library and Center by purchasing from an Amazon wish list or through cash donations. As of April 13, 2017, SEAALL members had contributed approximately \$600 to the Library and Center through the donation of books, DVDs, and cash gifts.

The scholarship committee awarded over \$11,000 in grants and scholarships.

The Newsletter & Publications Committee continued to publish *The Southeastern Law Librarian* on a quarterly basis with a special election issue. It also continued to make active use of Twitter to publicize SEAALL, AALL, and other law librarianship related information.

AALL recognized SEAALL's Government Relations committee for its efforts in working toward passage of the Uniform Electronic Legal Materials Act (UELMA) in West Virginia.

The Executive Board approved a new committee: the Diversity & Inclusion Committee. The committee's charge is to identify issues related to maximizing the diversity of SEAALL membership and promote awareness for diversity-related activities.

The Service to SEAALL award was presented to Ed Hart.

We granted two lifetime SEAALL memberships to Carol Billings and Hazel Johnson.

Planning for the 2018 meeting in Nashville, Tennessee (April 12-14) is well underway. Vanderbilt University Law School and Belmont University College of Law will share Local Arrangements responsibilities. Additionally, the Executive Board selected The Homestead in Hot Springs, Virginia to host SEAALL 2019.

Respectfully submitted,

Jason R. Sowards

President 2017-2018