

Southeastern Chapter of the American Association of Law Libraries (SEAALL)

2018-2019 Annual Report

The SEAALL officers for 2018-2019 were Kristina L. Niedringhaus, President; Louis M. Rosen, Vice President/President-Elect; Jason Sowards, Immediate Past President; Kat Klepfer, Secretary; Rachel Purcell, Treasurer (until September 2018); Casandra "Cas" Laskowski, Treasurer (from September 2018 until present); and Avery Le and Suzanne Corriell as Members at Large.

Newly elected officers for 2019-2020 are Shamika Dalton, Vice President/President-Elect (replacing Louis Rosen) and Leslie Street, Member at Large (replacing Avery Le).

SEAALL held its annual meeting at the Omni Homestead Resort in Hot Springs, Virginia, from March 21-23, 2019. The theme for the meeting was "Create. Innovate. Act." The Annual Meeting had two keynote speakers: Dan Kimble, Director of the West Virginia Access to Justice Commission, who spoke on Friday, March 22, and John Mayer, Executive Director of CALI, who spoke at the morning business meeting on Saturday, March 23. The Program Committee, chaired by Louis Rosen, put together multiple tracks of programs by our peers, and the Local Arrangements Committee chaired by Caroline Osborne, scheduled fun activities around the resort property.

We held the Institute on Thursday, March 21. The theme was "Ascending to New Heights," and it focused on leadership skills, with current managers, directors, and leaders sharing their advice and experience with members interested in leadership at all levels. Esteemed medical librarian M.J. Tooey was the Institute keynote speaker.

The Community Service Committee, chaired by Katie Hanschke, selected Project Horizon as its local service project recipient in Hot Springs. Project Horizon (http://www.projecthorizon.org/) is dedicated to reducing domestic, dating, and sexual violence in the Lexington, Buena Vista, and Rockbridge County (VA) area through crisis intervention services and prevention programs.

The Scholarship Committee, chaired by Beau Steenken, awarded student scholarships in the fall of 2018 and the CONELL Grant, AALL Annual Meeting Grant, and Lucile Elliott Scholarship in the spring of 2019.

The Newsletter & Publications Committee, co-chaired by Eliza Fink and Jason Murray, continued to publish *The Southeastern Law Librarian* newsletter every quarter, along with a special election issue. All back issues of the newsletter are archived on the SEAALL website at https://seaall.wildapricot.org/Newsletter. Billie Blaine continues to serve in an *ex oficio* capacity as Editor of the Newsletter. The Committee also continued to make active use of Twitter to publicize SEAALL, AALL, and other law librarianship-related information.



At the morning business meeting at the Homestead Resort, Ed Edmonds and Pam Melton were both approved for Life Membership in SEAALL for their history in and service to the chapter.

In July 2019, at our business meeting at the AALL Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., the 2019 Service to SEAALL Award was presented to Paul Birch by the Service to SEAALL Award Committee of previous Award winners Ed Hart and Fran Norton and Immediate Past President Jason Sowards.

The 2020 SEAALL Annual Meeting is currently being planned for April 2020 at the Westin hotel in Jackson, Misssissippi, with Local Arrangements Committee Chair Stephen Parks working closely with new SEAALL President Louis Rosen. Shamika Dalton, our 2019-2020 Vice President/President-Elect, is Chair of the Program Committee, and she has already started planning an Institute focused on diversity and inclusion programming. Our 2021 Annual Meeting remains scheduled for Columbia, South Carolina, and our 2022 Annual Meeting is scheduled for Richmond, Virginia.

Respectfully submitted,

Louis M. Rosen

SEAALL President 2019-2020